Center for Novel Pathways to Quantum Coherence in Materials

Advisory Committee

An advisory committee of senior figures that have made important contributions to the scientific areas of the Center has been formed. This committee will provide input into the functioning and scientific plans of the Center. They will meet annually to review progress and provide guidance.

The following distinguished scientists have agreed to serve:

Dr. Dale Van Harlingen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (Chair): Dr. Van Harlingen is an expert in experiments on the Josephson effect and other phase-coherent properties in superconductors. He is the Executive Associate Director of the Illinois Quantum Information Science and Technology Center (IQUIST) and a key member of UIUC’s Materials Research Laboratory.

Dr. Tom Devereaux, SLAC/Stanford: Dr. Devereaux is a theorist who applies a variety of computational methods to understand correlated and topological materials, with particular expertise in non-equilibrium properties. He is the director of the Stanford Institute for Materials and Energy Sciences (the division of materials science at SLAC).

Dr. Tony Heinz, SLAC/Stanford: Dr. Heinz is an expert on optical effects on solids including the two-dimensional materials discussed in Thrust 2 of this proposal. He is the Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences at SLAC and previously served as Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering at Columbia University.

Dr. Margaret Murnane, University of Colorado Boulder: Dr. Murnane’s work uses advanced laser techniques to understand a variety of systems in atomic physics and condensed matter. She has expertise in many of the optical coherence methods to be used in this EFRC and leads the NSF Science and Technology Center on Real-Time Functional Imaging.

Dr. Nitin Samarth, Pennsylvania State University: Dr. Samarth’s scientific expertise is in the synthesis of a wide variety of quantum materials including topological materials and materials for spintronics applications, and their characterization by electronic transport. He is Department Head of the Department of Physics at PSU.